AOC Executive

Members of the AOC Executive include the President (who is a member of the IOC), two Vice Presidents, two members of the IOC in Australia, the Secretary General, the Chairperson of the Athletes' Commission, and seven members of the Executive.

The positions of President and Vice President are elected from nominations received from any member of the AOC.

The seven other elected members are elected from nominations received from the national bodies of sports on the Olympic program. Elections are held at the AOC's Annual General Meeting first convened after a Summer Olympic Games.

The Chairperson of the AOC Athletes' Commission is elected by the members of the AOC Athletes' Commission. 

Two IOC Members and the Secretary General are members of the Executive by way of their positions. The Secretary General is appointed by the Executive and is a non-voting ex-officio member.

Patron in Chief

The Hon. Tony Abbott MP
Prime Minister of Australia

Members of the AOC Executive 

John D Coates AC, LLB


Vice Presidents
Helen M Brownlee OAM, BEd 
Peter Montgomery AM, LLB

IOC Members in Australia
R Kevan Gosper AO, BA (Hons) Hon Dsc FAIM (Member since 1977)
John D Coates AC, LLB (Member since 2001)
James Tomkins OAM (Member since 2013) 

Secretary General
Craig Phillips MBA, Dip.Teaching (PE)

Members of the Executive
Ian Chesterman BCom 
Kitty Chiller
Nick Green OAM
Nicole Livingstone OAM 
Andrew J Plympton
Russell G Withers
Danielle Woodward OAM
Kimberley Crow (Chair, AOC Athletes' Commission)