• Home
  • Pierre de Coubertin

Pierre de Coubertin

Named after the founder of the modern Olympic Games, the award recognises students who demonstrate sporting prowess whilst exemplifying the Olympic values of sportsmanship, teamwork and fair play.

All secondary government and non government schools are invited to nominate one recipient for the prestigious Pierre de Coubertin Award  from year 10, 11 or 12. Nominations open 28th March and close 26th May.  The 2017 Awards ceremony will be held on Friday 9 June at the Western Australian Institute of Sport and students from across the state will received the prestigious Award .


“The award allows you to gain a greater understanding and appreciation for Olympic values, meet new people and form new friendships,” Australian Olympic Committee board member Helen Brownlee said.


The Olympic Academy Day on 9th June will give students the opportunity to meet with some of their Olympic heroes and hear their unique insight into the Olympic Games with stories about how they got involved in sport and the positive impact this has had on their life. The students will learn from the Olympians during the morning Academy, before receiving their Award in front of proud parents and teachers.


Fast Facts:

  • The Award is open to all secondary students in years 10,11 or 12
  • Nominations open 28th March and close 26th May. Please see below for information and nomination forms or contact the WA Olympic Council on (08)6168 9185.
  • More than 16,000 secondary students across Australia have received the award since its inception.
  • Previous WA Pierre de Coubertin Award winners include WA’s dual Olympian Kim Mickle (Javelin), triple Olympian Fergus Kavanagh (Hockey) and five time Olympian Jamie Dwyer (Hockey).

Information Flyer & Nomination Form


For more information, please contact the Western Australian Olympic Council on (08) 6168 9185 or email lisa.lilleyman@olympics.com.au