Fundraising and Events - WA

One of the primary functions of the WAOC is fundraising for the Australian Olympic Team.

Fundraising in WA is led by the Team Appeal Committee who oversee the conduct of numerous ongoing and one-off projects in conjunction with the State Government, Team Sponsors, the corporate community and the wider community.

This Committee, comprising of business people and Sponsor representatives is committed to ensuring our athletes have the opportunity to perform at their best while competing at the Olympic Games.

Since 1992, the WA Appeal has contributed nearly $3 million to the National Appeal through a variety of events and facilitation of donations.

All funds raised by the AOC and the WAOC go towards “the preparation, participation and recognition of members of Australia’s Olympic Teams”.

Preparation: includes AOC Funding Grants to assist each athlete in maximising their training potential and to provide them with the funding to undertake international competition and enhance their chances of qualifying for team selection.

Participation: includes travel, accommodation, uniforms, sporting equipment, and living allowances for all athletes competing at the Olympic Games.


2013-2016 Team Appeal Committee


Mr J Barrey Williams


Mr Graham Moss


Jeff Healy


Ms Melva Bergsma-Stone OAM                           

Mr William (Bill) Bloking                      

Mr Alan Clyne                                        

Mr John Boyle                                        

Mr Duncan Calder                                  

Mr Guy Champion                                  

Mr Ron Eacott                                        

Mr David Fardon                                    

Mr Ian Gay                                                             

Mr Peter Harris                                      

Mr Reece Hogan                                    

Mr Steve Lawrence                                

Mr Sean Lee                                           

Ms Kirstin Mardardy                                              

Mr Simon Martin                                   

Mr Lloyd Meredith                                 

Mr Sunil Narula                                     

Mr Deane Pieters                                   

Ms Karen Teong                                     

Mr Chris Wharton                  


Mr Denis McInerney                                              

Mr Michael Mitchell                                              

Mr Ray Turner AM

Mr Tim Ungar                                        

Mr Gavin Walton