• Home
  • Olympians Club of Victoria

Olympians Club of Victoria

2015 OCV Gala Dinner

Friday November 20, 2015
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Bookings are available via the VOC phone 03 9427 0700 or download the form below for further details. 


Once an Olympian, always an Olympian

The objectives of the Olympians Club of Victoria is to promote Olympism by undertaking and supporting activities which will progress the Olympic movement across the state.

Formation of the "Young Olympians Club"  

We are delighted to welcome a new “sub club” to the Olympians Club of Victoria. The sub-committee for this group is led by Olympians Steph Moorhouse (Gymnastics 2004), Ash Brennan (Gymnastics 2012, 2008), Josh Dunkley-Smith (Rowing Silver Medallist 2012) and Tom Swann (Rowing 2012). It will be an opportunity to connect with fellow Olympians and build new networks. To qualify Olympians need to be 35 years of age or younger. Special thanks to the sub-committee and VOC for getting it up and running. If you are interested in being involved please contact the VOC. 

Young Olympians Club – Networking with Carlton & United Breweries (CUB) Chief Executive Officer, Ari Mervis
In its third session, a select group of 16 Olympians had the unique opportunity to connect with Chief Executive Officer of CUB and Managing Director of SABmiller Asia Pacific, Ari Mervis. The evening was hosted by CUB on Tuesday June 9 at their Southbank Head Office, and included an informal boardroom chat followed by a Q&A on Ari’s life and work experiences. 

2014 OCV Gala Dinner 

Friday November 21, 2014
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

The annual dinner, held at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, was another great success with in excess of 500 in attendance and a large percentage of Olympians & Olympic officials; of which a number travelled from Interstate and Overseas to celebrate reunion’s ending in the number 4.

We were able to introduce many of our Sochi Olympians including the winners of the Most Outstanding Male and Female Performances from the Games, Lydia Lassila OAM and David Morris, and the Chef de Mission Ian Chesterman.

It was particularly pleasing to be able to welcome Ray Weinberg (1948-1952 Athletics), Lindsay Gaze who started his Olympic journey in the exhibition Aussie Rules Game in 1956 before becoming a legend of Basketball, and former Governor of Victoria and dual Olympian, John Landy, as well as to report that almost one in three of the almost 500 that attended was an Olympian.

We were pleased to be able to host the members of the 2014 Australian Olympic Winter Team and to offer all other Olympians a greatly reduced ticket price. This was possible due to the kind support of Lazard, Hamper World, The Gibbins Family and PwC.

The dinner gave us the opportunity to fondly farewell and thank Gill Brewster who had recently resigned as Executive Director of the VOC and Secretary of the Olympians Club of Victoria. A presentation was made to Gill in recognition of seven great years of involvement.



Our Most Outstanding Olympians

Past winners of the Award, which is presented by the Olympians Club of Victoria at their annual dinner, reads like the who's who of Olympic sport:

2012 London
Sally Pearson, Athletics
Thomas Slingsby, Sailing
Jacob Clear, David Smith, Tate Smith and Murray Stewart, Canoe/Kayak – Sprint, K4 1000m

2010 Vancouver
Lydia Lassila, Aerial Freestyle Skiing
Dale Begg-Smith, Mogul’s Freestyle Skiing 
2008 Beijing
Stephanie Rice, Swimming
Steve Hooker, Athletics
Drew Ginn and Duncan Free, Rowing 

2004 Athens
Petria Thomas, Swimming
Ryan Bayley, Cycling
Men's Hockey Team
2002 Salt Lake City
Alisa Camplin, Aerial Freestyle Skiing
2000 Sydney
Catherine Freeman, Athletics
Ian Thorpe, Swimming
Women's Hockey Team

1996 Atlanta
Susie O'Neill, Swimming
Kieren Perkins, Swimming
Women's Hockey Team

1992 Barcelona
Kathy Watt, Cycling
Kieren Perkins, Swimming
1988 Seoul
Debbie Flintoff-King, Athletics
Duncan Armstrong, Swimming
Special Award, Women's Hockey Team

1984 Los Angeles
Glynis Nunn, Athletics
Jon Sieben, Swimming
1983 All Time Greatest
Dawn Fraser, Swimming
Murray Rose, Swimming
















Contact your Olympians Club

Mr Leon Wiegard OAM
Olympians Club of Victoria
p: (03) 9427 0700
e: maria.cabeliza@olympics.com.au

The OCV welcomes your enquiries:

Leave this field empty