Victorian Olympic Council

Julius L Patching Sports Official of the Year Award


Julius L Patching Sports Official of the Year Recipients

2013 Jim Williams (Hockey)
2013 Andrew Guerin (Rowing)
2012 Bill Bell (Sailing)
2011 Kevin Wilson (Sailing)
2011 Ross Wilson (Sailing)
2010 Barry Roycroft (Equestrian)
2010 Reg McKay (Rowing) 
2009 Geoff Hare OAM (Swimming)
2008 Jim Sinclair (Wrestling)
2007 Richard Lawysz (Athletics)

Julius L Patching Sports Official of the Year Award

Presented by the Victorian Olympic Council
This award is in recognition of the unprecedented and tireless contribution of Julius L Patching to the Victorian Olympic Council (VOC) and Olympic community. Judy was a voluntary Official from 1947 until his death in 2009. This award recognises the outstanding contribution that officials make to the fabric of the Olympic sporting community in Victoria.

Candidate Requirements

This award is open to voluntary officials and administrators including but not limited to administrators, secretaries, committee members, referees, umpires and judges who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to their sport.

Criteria for this award include level of contribution, longevity of service, impact to sport, demonstration of excellence, attitude and peer feedback. One nomination per Member Sport will be accepted for consideration each year[1].

Nominated Officials must be:

Nomination Process

Selection Process

Award Presentation
Successful recipients will be notified by the VOC of the award presentation ceremony, which will be held annually at the VOC Annual General Meeting. 

Nominations for 2015 close February 27, 2015.

Executive Director
Victorian Olympic Council
PO Box 2228

Please contact the Victorian Olympic Council on 9427 0700 with any further queries. 

[1] This award is designed to acknowledge an individual. However, in the case of two or more people jointly performing in a way that should be considered by the Selection Panel, the nomination will be valid.
Decisions are at the discretion of the Selection Panel and are final.

The Julius L Patching Sports Official of the Year Award Nomination Form ReadSpeaker