• Home
  • Education and Pierre de Coubertin Awards

Education and Pierre de Coubertin Awards


A very important part of the QOC's charter is the focus on education – both with the community and the school system. This is a means of diffusing to the public the spirit of the Olympic movement, its ideals and philosophy.

The Queensland Olympic Council also supports both Primary and Secondary Schools by assisting to arrange for Olympians to attend school speech nights, sports awards, school assemblies and general school visits throughout Queensland. Our Olympic athletes are seen as heroes by these children and act as wonderful role models for our future Olympic Champions. The main education initiatives include the Pierre de Coubertin Awards, detailed below, and the Latch ON program>>> 
Pierre de Coubertin Awards 

The Pierre de Coubertin Awards is a major program of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) Schools Education Strategy. 

In 1995, the Queensland Olympic Council, sponsored by the Queensland Olympic 2000 Task Force adopted the Pierre de Coubertin Award Program. In 1998 the funding for the program was transferred to Education Queensland to mirror the AOC's Education Strategy.

The Awards program is named after the founder of the Modern Olympic Games, Baron Pierre de Coubertin. The program is designed to emphasise participation and commendable sporting behaviour consistent with the Olympic Movement. It is not primarily intended to reward elite performance alone.

Each Queensland secondary school is invited to nominate one student (only) from year 10, 11 or 12 as its Pierre de Coubertin Award nominee. Our aim is to eventually have an Award recipient from every secondary school in the State.

At some stage during years 8 - 12 the nominee must have represented the school, district or region in at least three sports in the competitive arena, demonstrating initiative, teamwork, sportsmanship and fair play.  One of the sports must be on the current Olympic Program. A piece of original art/literary work (for example - poetry, songs, paintings etc) which illustrate the student’s appreciation of the Olympic Movement must also be submitted. For a list of all sports on the current Olympic Program, click here>>>

To nominate your student for the 2016 Pierre de Coubertin Awards please complete the Nomination Form and return with their Literary or Artistic Piece to qoc@olympics.com.au

Past Recipients
Past recipients of the Award include a number of Olympians: 1996 recipients Jade Winter (Gregory Terrace) attended the 1996 Atlanta Olympics in Swimming and Ashley Callus (Iona Secondary College) Sydney 2000 and Athens 2004 in Swimming; 1998 winner Angie Skirving (The Glennie School) represented in Hockey at Sydney and Athens; while 2000 recipient Damian Istria (St Josephs College) represented in Gymnastics at Sydney in the same year; 2001 recipient Deborah Lovely (Corinda SHS) represented in Weightlifting in Athens 2004; and Jessicah Schipper (Pine Rivers State High School) and Nicholas Sprenger (St Joseph's College, Gregory Terrance), 2002 recipients, both went on to compete in Swimming in Athens.
Pierre de Coubertin Honour Board Program
The Queensland Olympic Council is pleased to offer all secondary schools the opportunity to purchase a specially commissioned range of Honour Boards. The designs have been approved for use by the Australian Olympic Committee and feature the Olympic Crest and Rings logo.

These timeless designs will provide a permanent recognition of your schools Pierre de Coubertin Awardees.