Australian Olympians
  • Home
  • Olympians in the Community

Olympians in the Community

Keep up to date with Olympians who are sharing their sport with communities throughout Australia.

2014 Pierre de Coubertin Awards

Olympians around the country have been involved in the 2014 Pierre de Coubertin Award Ceremonies for senior school students . Named after the founder of the modern Olympic Games, the Pierre de Coubertin Award recognises students who demonstrate academic excellence and sporting prowess whilst exemplifying the Olympic values.

Olympians are present at State Academy Day and Award Ceremony and share their Olympic journey with the students.


127 senior secondary school students (of a total 170 Victorian students) were honoured in a special awards ceremony on Sunday May 18 at the MCG.

The Hon Martin Dixon MP, Minister for Education, presented the awards along with Master of Ceremonies, Nicole Livingstone OAM, 1988, 1992 and 1996 swimming Olympic Silver and dual Bronze Medallist, and David Morris, 2010 and 2014 freestyle skiing Olympic Silver Medallist.

Olympians in attendance were: Andrew Collett (2000, 2004 Judo and Victorian Olympic Council Board Member), Ash Brennan (2012, 2008 Gymnastics), 
David Morris (2010, 2014 Freestyle Skiing Silver Medallist), Kyle Vander-Kuyp (2000, 1996 Athletics), Lara Davenport OAM (2008 Swimming Gold Medallist), Nicole Livingstone OAM (1988, 1992, 1996 Swimming Silver and Dual Bronze Medallist and Victorian Olympic Council Vice President), Pam Kilborn-Ryan AM MBE (1964, 1968, 1972 Athletics Silver and Bronze Medallist), Ray Weinberg AM (1948, 1952 Athletics), Tal Karp (2004 Football)


On Saturday 12 July the Qld Olympic Council’s Pierre de Coubertin Awards Ceremony was held at Somerville House.  126 students received their award from Corporal Daniel Keighran VC (Pierre de Coubertin Recipient in 2000) and pin from Natalie Cook OAM.  Olympians in attendance where John Konrads, Andrew McCabe, Andrew Grant, Josh Jefferis, Sharon Sullivan, Paul Gonzalez, Julie McDonald, Kim Cooper, Lara Davenport and Natalie Cook.


ACTOC’s Pierre de Coubertin Awards  presentation on 20 June was the best-ever non-Olympic year function.  Thirty-two awards (31 ACT and one NSW) were presented by Jenny Owens and Matt Favier (Director of the Australian Institute of Sport, Deputy Chef de Mission 2016 Australian Olympic Team.


On Friday 25 August 2014 the New South Wales Olympic Council (NSWOC) hosted 60 students from across NSW for the 2014 Pierre de Coubertin Academy Day and State Presentations.

An outstanding group of Australian Olympians joined the Academy to impart their knowledge to the students. Dual Olympic Champion Katrina Powell OAM (Dual Olympic Champion in Hockey Gold Medalist – Sydney 2000 & Athens 2004), Mareke d’Cruz (Athens, 2004 – Swimming), and Stephanie Magiros (Sochi 2014 – Snowboard Half pipe) captivated the students with an insight into their Olympic journey.

Following the Academy, the State Presentation of the Pierre de Coubertin Awards was held at the Sydney Olympic Park Sports Centre attended by special guest Dual Olympian Youcef Abdi (Athletics - London 2012, Beijing 2008).