• Home
  • News
  • Track World Champs Day 1 Preview

Track World Champs Day 1 Preview

18 February 2015

CYCLING: The Velodrome National in Paris will be awash with Aussie green and gold on the opening day of the 2015 UCI Track World Championships in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines with more than half of the twenty-member team in action.
The team events will kick-start competition on Wednesday afternoon (Thursday 245am AEST) with qualifying for both the men’s and women’s team pursuit.
Australia has claimed four of the past five world titles in the men’s team pursuit, with two-time defending champion Alex Edmondson (SA) headlining the squad which features returning champions Luke Davison (SA), Miles Scotson (SA) and Mitchell Mulhern (QLD).
The world-class outfit is further bolstered by the return of 2011 and 2012 world champion Jack Bobridge (SA).
Australia’s women have found the team pursuit podium five times at the past six World Championships, including winning the title in 2010.
2010 world champion Ashlee Ankudinoff (NSW) returns and is joined by Amy Cure (TAS), Annette Edmondson (SA), Melissa Hoskins (WA) and debutant Rebecca Wiasak (ACT) in the squad.
The three-round team pursuit competition will see the first round held on Thursday afternoon, and finals on Thursday evening.
The evening session (from Thursday 5am - 810am AEST) will see three finals, with Australia to line up in two – the men’s and women’s team sprint.
2012 world champions Shane Perkins (VIC) and Matthew Glaetzer (SA), will team with debutant Nathan Hart (ACT) in the men’s event, while three-time world champions Anna Meares (SA) and Kaarle McCulloch (NSW) will reunite for the first time in two years in the women’s.
Defending women’s points race world champion Amy Cure (TAS) will not line up in the evening’s final due to a schedule clash which sees the final contested in the middle of the team pursuit competition.

Note entries subject to change up until day before races.
Afternoon session (Qualifying) Thurs 19 Feb 3am AEST
Women’s 4km Team Pursuit
• Australia world champions 2010 (three riders / 3km)
• Five podium appearances in six years incl silver 2012 & 13 and bronze 2014 & 09
• Australian record 4:20.999, 28.1.15, Melbourne – Ankudinoff, Cure, Hoskins, Edmondson
Watch for
• Amy CURE (22, TAS) 2013 silver, 2014 bronze medallist
• Annette EDMONDSON (22, SA) 2012 & 13 silver, 2014 bronze medallist
• Melissa HOSKINS (23, WA) 2012 & 13 silver, 2014 bronze medallist
• Ashlee ANKUDINOFF (24, NSW) 2010 world champion, 2009 bronze,
• Rebecca WIASAK (30, ACT) on debut
Men’s 4km Team Pursuit
• Australia two-time defending world champions
• Won four of past five, and eight of past 13 world titles
• Australian record 3:53.401, 04.04.2012, Melbourne - Bobridge, Dennis, O'Shea, Hepburn
Watch for
• Jack BOBRIDGE (25, SA) 2010 & 11 world champion, 2012 & 09 silver
• Luke DAVISON (24, SA / Formerly NSW) 2014 world champion
• Alexander EDMONDSON (21, SA) 2013 & 2014 world champion
• Miles SCOTSON (21, SA) 2014 world champion
• Mitchell MULHERN (24, QLD) 2014 world champion
Evening session (Finals) 5am - 810am AEST
Women’s Team sprint
• Australia three-time consecutive world champions 2009, 10, 11
• Five podiums in six years including silver 2012, bronze 2007
• Australian record 32.597. 04.04.2012, Melbourne - McCulloch, Meares
Watch for
• Anna MEARES OAM (31, SA / Formerly QLD) 3x world champion; 2012 silver, 2007 bronze
• Kaarle McCULLOCH (26, NSW) 3x world champion, 212 silver
Men’s Team sprint
• Australia world champions 1996 and 2012; 8 podiums since 1996
• Perkins 2012 world champion & 2006 bronze medallist
• Australian record 42.671. 05.12.2013, Aguascalientes, MEX - Glaetzer, Perkins, Hart
Watch for
• Matthew GLAETZER (22, SA) 2012 world champion
• Nathan HART (21, ACT) on debut
• Shane PERKINS (27, VIC) 2012 world champion, 2006 bronze medallist

Watch LIVE on SBS TWO (TV Guide) and LIVE stream on SBS Cycling Central.


Related News

Sail Sydney Farewells Olympic Classes

Sail Sydney Farewells Olympic Classes

15 December 2017

Sail Sydney’s Olympic class section has ended with national team and squad members winning six of the eight fleets.

Catherine Fettel joins AOC Executive

Catherine Fettel joins AOC Executive

14 December 2017

The Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) today announced Catherine Fettell has been elected to the AOC Executive filling the casual vacancy left by Nicole Livingstone who stepped down in November.