• Home
  • News
  • Top riders set for Track National Championships

Top riders set for Track National Championships

27 January 2015

CYCLING: Australia’s ‘best on track’ will be on show in Melbourne from Wednesday 28 January at the 2015 Track National Championships.

It is the first time in eleven years that Melbourne has hosted the Championships, with Thornbury’s Velodrome ready for an epic four-day clash between 150 cyclists for 32 national titles.

Following a superb 2014 that saw Australia top the medal tally at both the elite and junior World Championships, and the Commonwealth Games, the battle to be Australia’s best has never been tougher.

Headlining the field includes a who’s who of not just Australian, but world track cycling, including reigning world champions Alexander Edmondson (SA) and Amy Cure (TAS), Luke Davison (SA), Glenn O'Shea (SA), Mitchell Mulhern (QLD) and Miles Scotson (SA).

Australia’s queen of the track Anna Meares (SA) and fellow Commonwealth Games stars Matthew Glaetzer (SA), Shane Perkins (VIC), Annette Edmondson (SA) and Stephanie Morton (SA) will all be eager to defend their national titles.

And while that is sure to set mouths watering, a litany of exciting young Aussie track cycling talent who have risen into the elite ranks in 2015 are set to electrify the racing schedule.

No less than seven 2014 junior world champions in the under 19 ranks have graduated in 2015, including team pursuit world champions Sam Welsford (WA), Callum Scotson (SA), Alex Porter (SA) and Daniel Fitter (QLD).

In the women’s field, three-time 2014 world champion on the track and road Macey Stewart (TAS) is set to ignite the event, as will fellow world champions Alexandra Manly (SA)and Lauren Perry (TAS).

While in the under 19 field, Victoria’s Courtney Field will don her rainbow jersey in the women’s sprint after becoming just the second Australian woman in history to win the junior sprint world title.

In a special event at the Championships, individual pursuit world record holder, Jack Bobridge (SA), will attempt to break the world hour record at approximately 7pm on Saturday 31 January.

Bobridge is expected to be in strong form after racing the Tour Down Under last week.

He’ll ride the scratch race, points race and team pursuit as South Australia looks to continue its dominance of the event.

The Championships will feature two sessions of racing each day, with entry to the afternoon session free to all spectators. 
The events schedule is viewable here: http://cycling.org.au/Events/Track-National-Championships/Event-Guide/Events-Schedule
While for the first time, all races will be live streamed at www.wideworldofsports.com.au.


Related News

Aussie World Cup Sevens squads announced

Aussie World Cup Sevens squads announced

12 July 2018

Australia’s Sevens sides have named their strongest squads for next week’s Rugby World Cup Sevens with a host of players shaking off injuries to make the trip to San Francisco.

Olympic Cyclist Katrin Garfoot announces retirement

Olympic Cyclist Katrin Garfoot announces retirement

12 July 2018

Australian Cycling Team member and Rio 2016 Olympian, Katrin Garfoot, has today announced her retirement from cycling.

Australia wins big at 2018 Henley Royal Regatta

Australia wins big at 2018 Henley Royal Regatta

9 July 2018

Australia’s Men’s and Women’s Eights have won big at the 2018 Henley Royal Regatta. Racing as the Georgina Hope Rinehart National Training Centre, Australia won the Grand Challenge Cup, for Open Men’s Eights, and the Remenham Challenge Cup, for Open Women’s Eights.