• Home
  • News
  • South Australians shine at Track Nationals

South Australians shine at Track Nationals

1 February 2013

CYCLING - TRACK: South Australia has claimed the honours on the second night of competition, collecting four of the seven gold medals at the 2013 Cycling Australia Track National Championships at Sydney’s Dunc Gray Velodrome on Thursday.
Annette Edmondson won the individual pursuit, while Glenn O’Shea, Alex Edmondson, Luke Davison and Miles Scotson were simply superb in their team pursuit victory.  South Australia also collected crowns in the under 19 men’s team pursuit and under 19 men’s sprint, with West Australia, Queensland and Tasmania each taking home a national title.
Edmondson clinched her fourteenth national track title and defended her crown in a thrilling women’s 3000m Individual Pursuit final over London Olympic teammate Amy Cure (TAS).
Edmondson shot out to a half second lead after the first lap, before fastest qualifier Cure quickly reversed the deficit to lead by half a second after the first kilometre.
Over the second kilometre, Edmondson pegged back the Tasmanian’s lead to within one tenth of a second, with the velodrome timing system unable to separate the pair before with just three laps to go.
Edmondson continued her late charge over the final few laps to ride away a winner, crossing the line in 3mins 30.722secs, over a second ahead of Cure (3:32.088).

"I am really happy with this win, with the world championships only three weeks away, this is a major event for all of us,” Edmondson commented. "This was one that I was definitely going after."
“(But) After qualifying second fastest, I was thinking I had a bit of a task on my hands to try to beat Aims.

“I wasn't sure what I'd have to do, but I knew I'd stuffed up my timing in my qualifying effort, so I was heading out to do a little more of a smoother ride.
“It was a bit strange having her on the other side as I'm used to being on her side, listening to music before the race.  So it's quite difficult to go from team mates in training and then to racing each other the next day, but that's how it is,” said Edmondson of her 2012 London Olympic room mate.
In the bronze medal final, Sydney’s Ankudinoff (3:35.461) defeated West Australia’s Isabella King (3:41.813).
The Southcott Cup men's teams pursuit was won in spectacular fashion by the South Australian quartet of Luke Davison, Alex Edmondson, Glenn O’Shea and Miles Scotson who posted a blistering sub four minute time in the final.
Qualifying fastest (4:04.688) by over fours seconds, the quartet had plenty in reserve in the final, establishing a strong lead over the New South Wales team of Caleb Ewan, Ben Harvey, Tirian McManus and Nicholas Yallouris inside the first few laps.
With the margin increasing with every lap, South Australia caught their rivals with six laps remaining, continuing to race against the clock to post a scorching time of 3mins 59.977secs.
“Coming into the nationals I wasn’t too sure we’d ride under four minutes but Tim (Decker) pumped it into us,” London Olympian Glenn O’Shea explained.
“I think our main focus was to go out there and race as best we could and we didn’t focus on any other teams we really raced for the time,” he added.
The title was the third in a row for Edmondson and O’Shea and the fourth for the powerhouse South Australian outfit. In 2012, O’Shea and Edmondson teamed with Jack Bobridge and Rohan Dennis to set an Allcomers record of 3mins 56.834secs.
“Last year was really big when we rode such a fast time,” O’Shea commented. “It was pretty important we came out here and rode so quick again because we had a lot to live up to.”
The win comes as a huge achievement for team pursuit junior world champion Scotson as he begins his first year in the senior ranks, while 2012 Subaru National Road Series Champion Davison has returned to track racing after over four years away from the sport.
“It was really important to show them they could do that especially as everyone is gunning for world championships selection,” O’Shea explained.
“I am the oldest team member here and probably one of the most experienced.
“So I try to keep the team calm and pass on some little things I’ve picked up from Jack (Bobridge), Rohan (Dennis) and Michael (Hepburn) from the last 18 months of racing and training with them,” O’Shea commented of his Olympic team pursuit teammates.
Victorian’s Jack Cummings, Alex Morgan, Luke Parker and Tyler Spurrell (4:08.516) automatically claimed the bronze medal after posting the third in qualifying.
In the women’s sprint, the top three qualifiers in Stephanie Morton (SA), Kaarle McCulloch (NSW) and Taylah Jennings (QLD) progressed to the second round unscathed while South Australia’s Rikki Belder knocked out the ACT’s Catherine Culvenor.
Men’s sprint favourites Matthew Glaetzer (SA) and Scott Sunderland (WA) have progressed to round two however defending champion Alex Bird (ACT) was knocked out by fellow Canberran Nathan Hart.
In the Bill Young Trophy (under 19 men’s teams pursuit), South Australia yet again showed its dominance in the discipline, claiming the title through Josh Harrison, Tom Kaesler, Alex Porter and Callum Scotson.

South Australia’s Patrick Constable won his first senior national title the under 19 men’s Sprint, with the 17-year-old notching up the win in straight heats against Travis Smedley (NSW).
In the under 19 women’s keirin, Queensland’s Tenille Falappi was crowned the national champion following the relegation of South Australia’s Holly Takos.  Takos, who crossed the line first, was relegated for not holding her line within the final 200 metres, handing Falappi the gold.
In the under 19 women’s 20km points race, 16-year-old Macey Stewart clinched the green and gold jersey in a dominant display.

Sam Welsford (WA) claimed the under 19 men’s 25km points race title with 42 points, with Nathan Bradshaw (NSW) and Mathew Ross (VIC) completing the podium finishing on 32 points apiece.  A countback resulted in Bradshaw taking the silver due to the fact he finished in a higher position in the final sprint. 

The 2013 Cycling Australia Track National Championships will be held at Sydney's Dunc Gray Velodrome from 30 January to 2 February, 2013.
The Championships will be shown live on SBS TWO from 7:30pm on Friday 1 February and Saturday 2 February.

Related News

New Aussie crew wins K4 World Cup silver

New Aussie crew wins K4 World Cup silver

21 May 2018

The Australian women’s K4 500 canoe sprint team has shocked even themselves with a stunning silver medal at the ICF World Cup in Szeged, Hungary.

Steph Gilmore wins Oi Rio Women's Pro

Steph Gilmore wins Oi Rio Women's Pro

18 May 2018

Stephanie Gilmore has won the Oi Rio Women’s Pro, Stop No. 4 on the World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), after a massive day of competition in four-to-five foot (1.2 - 1.5 metre) surf at Itaúna Beach in Saquarema.

Biggest Sport Climbing turnout spurs sport to new heights

Biggest Sport Climbing turnout spurs sport to new heights

17 May 2018

Around 250 athletes aged nine to 19 converged at the Sydney Indoor Climbing Gym last weekend in what was the country’s largest National Youth Sport Climbing Championships.