• Home
  • News
  • Olympic trio vying for major sport award

Olympic trio vying for major sport award

26 October 2015

AOC: Olympic medallists Anna Meares, Jess Fox and Lauren Jackson are among the contenders for sportswoman of the year at a major awards night for female sports stars.

Cyclist Meares, canoeist Fox, basketballer Jackson, ironwoman Liz Pluimers and surfer Stephanie Gilmore are the nominees for the main category at the Women's Health I support Women in Sport awards, which will be presented at Sydney's Hordern Pavilion.

Meares, Gilmore and Fox all added to their extensive world title collections and Pluimers captured an ironwoman triple crown in the period between mid 2014 and mid 2015 covered by the awards.

Although injury meant Jackson hardly played in the period, she was made an Officer of the Order of Australia earlier this year for her on-court record and work with domestic violence services.

The multi-gold medal world championship achievements of swimmers Emily Seebohm and Bronte Campbell occurred after the awards deadline.

Team of the Year looms as a stacked category with the World Cup-winning netball Diamonds up against the Southern Stars, who regained the women's cricket Ashes in England, the Matildas, who reached the FIFA World Cup football quarter-finals, the Hockeyroos and national women's Sevens rugby side.

Four of those teams are also represented in the Leadership Legend category with Laura Geitz (netball), Meg Lanning (cricket), Madonna Blyth (hockey) and Sharni Williams (sevens rugby), up against Opals basketball captain Penny Taylor.

Another stacked category is the Fair Fighter, the event's equivalent of a best and fairest.

Cricketer Ellyse Perry, tennis player Sam Stosur, swimmer Cate Campbell, rower Kim Crow and BMX and mountain bike competitor Caroline Buchanan are the nominees.

The winners will be determined by a mixture of public voting and the judging panel of Olympic track gold medallist Sally Pearson, Australian 2016 Olympic chef de Mission Kitty Chiller, Harvey Norman CEO Katie Page, sports reporters Mark Beretta and Sam Lane and Felicity Harley and Jackie Frank, the editor and publisher respectively of Women's Health.

The awards range from elite level to grass roots and also include Moment of the Year and One to Watch categories.

Also among the 12 awards to be announced on Tuesday will be a inaugural Hall of Fame award and and an Outstanding Woman in Sport award presented by the Australian government.


Related News

Skateboarding unites in Olympic push

Skateboarding unites in Olympic push

19 January 2018

Australia’s brightest skateboarding prospects are gathering in Melbourne for a historic launch of the ‘Skateboard 2020 Commission’ as the sport begins preparing for its Olympic debut at the 2020 Tokyo Games

Aussie men set for 2018 Asian Handball Championships

Aussie men set for 2018 Asian Handball Championships

18 January 2018

2018 begins with an important event for Australian handball, as the men’s national team prepare to make their debut at the Asian Men’s Championship in January.

Pearson and Wright nominated for Laureus World Sport Award

Pearson and Wright nominated for Laureus World Sport Award

17 January 2018

Australian track star Sally Pearson has been nominated for a prestigious Laureus World Sport Award following her emotional gold medal win at the World Championships last year.