• Home
  • News
  • Nine Aussies to tackle 2017 Tour de France

Nine Aussies to tackle 2017 Tour de France

28 June 2017

CYCLING - ROAD: Nine Australian riders will tackle the 2017 edition of the Tour de France, starting July 1 in Düsseldorf, Germany.

The 104th edition of the race finishes three weeks later in Paris after covering 21 stages and 3540 kilometres.

Tasmania's Richie Porte (BMC Racing Team) is hoping to become just the second Australian to pull on the yellow jersey in Paris after a stand out season. Porte has won the Tour Down Under and Tour de Romandie in 2017 and recently finished second at the Critérium du Dauphiné.

From the general classification to the sprints Michael Matthews (ACT-Team Sunweb), who claimed a maiden stage win at the 2016 Tour, will be hoping to add to his tally with an eye on the green jersey previously won by Robbie McEwen and Baden Cooke after finishing third last year.

Adam Hansen (QLD-Lotto Soudal) continues his impressive record of Grand Tours as he lines up for his 18th Grand Tour in a row and his seventh Tour. The Giro and Vuelta stage winner is also chasing his first Tour stage win.

The experienced Mathew Hayman (ACT-Orica-Scott) will line up at the Tour for just the third time in his career with the 2016 Paris-Roubaix winner supporting his teams GC riders.

Simon Clarke (VIC-Cannondale Drapac) the 2012 Vuelta a Espana mountains classification winner makes his first appearance at the Tour since 2014. Where he will be targeting his first individual stage having won the team time trial in 2013.

Former Australian time trial and road race champion Luke Durbridge (WA-Orica-Scott) will be looking forward to the opening stage time trial and a chance to pull on yellow.

Another name to watch in the closing kilometres of the sprint stages will be leadout man Mark Renshaw (NSW-Dimension Data) who will race the Tour for the ninth time.

Two riders will make their Tour de France debut with Damien Howson (SA-Orica-Scott) and Jay McCarthy (QLD-Bora-Hansgrohe) lining up at the biggest race in the world for the first time in their young careers.

Australians at 2017 Tour de France

Simon Clarke (Cannondale Drapac) - 3rd Tour (1 stage win)
Luke Durbridge (Orica-Scott) - 4th Tour
Adam Hansen (Lotto Soudal) - 8th Tour
Mathew Hayman (Orica-Scott) - 3rd Tour
Damien Howson (Orica-Scott) - 1st Tour
Michael Matthews (Team Sunweb) - 3rd Tour (1 stage win)
Jay McCarthy (Bora-Hansgrohe) - 1st Tour
Richie Porte (BMC Racing Team) - 6th Tour
Mark Renshaw (Dimension Data) - 9th Tour
About the Tour

The 104th edition of the 21 stage race runs from Saturday July 1 to July 23 covering 3540 kilometres. Featuring two individual time trials, nine flat stages, five hilly stages and five in the mountains.

How to watch

For the first time in history all stages of the 2017 Tour de France will be broadcast LIVE from start to finish ensuring that fans don't miss a minute of the action. SBS will be live streaming the race HERE.

Individual stage times vary - with most stages start from 8:30PM AEST check HERE for a full list of broadcast times.

SBS will show stage replays every day: 1PM daily on SBS & 3PM daily on SBS Viceland.

Also, tune in to morning updates: 7AM daily on SBS and evening highlights: 5PM daily on SBS

Cycling Australia

Related News

Aussies swimming in gold after strong Pan Pacs campaign

Aussies swimming in gold after strong Pan Pacs campaign

13 August 2018

The Australian Dolphins swim team completed a stellar Pan Pacs campaign, coming home with eight gold, 13 silver and eight bronze medals, as well as shattering six Championship records, over the four-day competition in Tokyo.

Nacra silver and four Australian boats qualified for Tokyo 2020

Nacra silver and four Australian boats qualified for Tokyo 2020

13 August 2018

Australia’s Nacra 17 program has confirmed its vast potential for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, despite a frustrating end for all crews and spectators at the 2018 World Championships in Denmark.

Aussie Spirit finish 4th at Softball World Champs

Aussie Spirit finish 4th at Softball World Champs

13 August 2018

The Aussie Spirit lived up to their world ranking with a fourth-place finish at the XVI Women’s Softball World Championship in Chiba, Japan.