Mitcham, Wu lead diving team to Glasgow

14 April 2014

DIVING: 2008 Olympic champion Matthew Mitcham and Olympic silver medallist Melissa Wu will spearhead a 12-strong Australian diving team at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow this year.

It is a team dominated by women, with nine of them on the plane to Scotland.

Platform specialist and dual Olympian Melissa Wu is heading to her third Commonwealth Games, leading a number of inexperienced females.

Springboard divers Georgia Sheehan and Anna Gelai are making their national senior team debut, with Sheehan aged just 15.

Also in the squad is 17-year-old Maddison Keeney, who won three titles at last week's selection trials to add to her FINA Grand Prix win in Madrid earlier in the year.

Joining Mitcham in the male team will be New Delhi springboard bronze medallist Grant Nell and 19-year-old platform specialist Domonic Bedggood.

Bedggood will team up with Mitcham in the platform synchronised event while Nel and Mitcham will take on the best in the Commonwealth in the springboard synchronised.

Meanwhile, platform synchronised specialist Emily Boyd and Lara Tarvit will be aiming to improve in Glasgow on their fourth placing at last year's world championships.

And London Olympian Anabelle Smith will hope to add to the bronze medal she won in the springboard synchronised in Delhi four years ago.

Australian team chef de mission Steve Moneghetti said Australia has a great history in diving at the Commonwealth Games.

"Diving is one of our most successful Commonwealth Games sports. It's a world sport and when it comes to the Commonwealth Games we have high expectations and they always deliver," said Moneghetti in Melbourne on Sunday.

"We are delighted to have someone like Matt Mitcham in this group of 12. Not only is he a world class diver but he's great to have around the team.

Matt's got an infectious nature and certainly his leadership from his experience point of view will help the younger members of what I think is a really well balanced team."

The full squad for Glasgow is: Matthew Mitcham (NSW), Grant Nel (VIC), Domonic Bedggood (QLD), Melissa Wu (NSW), Rachel Bugg (SA), Lara Tarvit (QLD), Emily Boyd (QLD), Annabelle Smith (VIC), Maddison Keeney (WA), Esther Qin (NSW), Georgina Sheehan (QLD), Anna Gelai (SA).


Related News

Russian Athletics accepts

Russian Athletics accepts "full" doping ban

27 November 2015

DOPING: Russia has accepted its "full suspension" from world athletics over widespread doping without even requesting a hearing, the IAAF says.

Athletics Australia welcomes decision to suspend Russia

Athletics Australia welcomes decision to suspend Russia

14 November 2015

Russia was provisionally suspended from track and field over accusations of "state-sponsored" doping just nine months out from the Rio Olympics.

Olympians honoured in Cycling Australia Hall of Fame

Olympians honoured in Cycling Australia Hall of Fame

11 November 2015

Seven Olympians will be recognised as inaugural inductees to the Cycling Australia Hall of Fame.

Related Sports



Related Olympians

Matthew Mitcham
Matthew Mitcham

Matthew Mitcham

Melissa Wu
Melissa Wu

Melissa Wu