• Home
  • News
  • Coutts wins Swimmer of the Year

Coutts wins Swimmer of the Year

26 November 2012

SWIMMING: Alicia Coutts was rewarded for her standout performance at the London Olympics as she claimed her second Australian swimmer of the year award on Saturday night.

Read Alicia's London 2012 diary here>>>

Coutts took out the top individual award at the Australian Swimming Awards at Melbourne Museum after collecting a record-equalling five medals in London amid an underwhelming performance from the Australian team.

Coutts joined Ian Thorpe, Susie O'Neill, Kieren Perkins, Grant Hackett and Michael Klim as a multiple winner of the award, after taking it out in 2010 when she won five gold medals at the Delhi Commonwealth Games.

Coutts's five medals in London included one gold as part of Australia's 4x100m freestyle team alongside Cate Campbell, Melanie Schlanger and Brittany Elmslie.

The quartet collected the golden moment of the year award for securing Australia's only gold medal in the pool.

Coutts's coach John Fowlie was named coach of the year.

Christian Sprenger, a silver medallist in the Olympic 100m breaststroke final, won the people's choice award while Paralympic star Matthew Cowdrey was voted swimmers' swimmer.

Jacqueline Freney was named the multi-class swimmer of the year for her remarkable achievement of winning eight gold medals at the Paralympics.

In other awards, Melissa Gorman was named open water swimmer of the year while fellow distance swimmer Trent Grimsey was acknowledged for his achievements in setting a new world record for the English Channel crossing.

Teenager Elmslie won the Australian Sports Commission discovery of the year and Blair Evans was the short course swimmer of the year.


Related News

Surfing legend Fanning targets Tokyo 2020

Surfing legend Fanning targets Tokyo 2020

18 October 2017

Mick Fanning is a three-time Surfing World Champion. He is a big supporter of the sport’s elevation to Olympic status

Tyack ranks highly at World Championships

Tyack ranks highly at World Championships

18 October 2017

Rio 2016 Olympic bronze medallist Ryan Tyack has claimed sixth in a field of 120 in the qualification of the World Archery Championships in Mexico City.

Uni Sevens players added to squad for NZ series

Uni Sevens players added to squad for NZ series

16 October 2017

Six rising stars from the University Sevens Series have been selected to join the wider Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens squad that will compete in Bendigo against New Zealand next week.