• Home
  • News
  • Australia claims first Hawkes Bay victory over Japan

Australia claims first Hawkes Bay victory over Japan

4 April 2017

HOCKEY: The Australian women's hockey team have taken out their first win of the four nations Hawkes Bay Cup in Hastings, New Zealand, with a 2 -1 defeat of Japan yesterday afternoon.

It was a cracker of a first quarter for the Hockeyroos as they scored two field goals within minutes of one another. The first went to Jordyn Holzberger in the 9th minute of play, the second to Madi Radcliffe in the 11th.

The strong beginning to the game for the Aussies was hindered by the Japanese defence, as the next two quarters went without goals as both teams pressed forward without any luck.

The final quarter saw Japan get their first goal of the match, forcing a penalty corner opportunity which was converted by Hazuki Yuda in the 46th minute of play.

Hockeyroos head coach Paul Gaudoin said: “We had a really good first half today, we applied ourselves as we wanted to and we got the rewards from that with two goals.

“We struggled a little bit in the second half, but that will be a good half of learning for some of our younger group to improve upon going into our next game against the USA tomorrow.”

Australia drew 1-all in their first two games of the competition on the weekend, against USA and New Zealand.

Hockeyroos Match Schedule
Tuesday 4 April: AUS v USA 4pm NZST / 2pm AEST / 12pm AWST
Thursday 6 April: AUS v NZL 5.30pm NZST / 3.30pm AEST / 1.30pm AWST
Saturday 8 April: AUS v JPN 3pm NZST / 1pm AEST / 11am AWST
Sunday 9: Finals

Hockey Australia

Related News

World Cup glory for Belcher and Ryan

World Cup glory for Belcher and Ryan

12 June 2018

Mat Belcher and Will Ryan have added another win to their remarkable record, closing out the World Cup Series Final with authority overnight.

Australia crowned 2018 Sevens World Series Champions

Australia crowned 2018 Sevens World Series Champions

11 June 2018

The second-place finish in Paris, has ensured that Australia has won the overall battle for the Series Championship on 92 points. In a photo finish over five tournaments, New Zealand fell short on 90 points with France in third on 68 points

Australian Canoe Sprint World Champs team selected

Australian Canoe Sprint World Champs team selected

5 June 2018

The women’s K4 500m of Rio Olympians Alyce Burnett (QLD), Alyssa Bull (QLD), London Olympian Jo Brigden-Jones (NSW) and Jaime Roberts (WA) have been selected to represent Australia at the 2018 ICF Sprint World Championships

Related Sports

Hockey

Hockey

Related Olympians

Jordyn Holzberger

Jordyn Holzberger