• Home
  • News
  • Aussies defeat NZ on day two of IFOH

Aussies defeat NZ on day two of IFOH

25 November 2016

HOCKEY: The Australian men's hockey team defeated the Black Sticks on day two of the International Festival of Hockey with a golden double from Kieran Govers and a goal from Aaron Kleinschmidt.

Six minutes into the game and New Zealand were a chance with a break away sprint down to their circle, however Australian goalkeeper Tyler Lovell managed to knock the ball away and within seconds it was down in the Australian circle.

Making the most of the opportunity Jake Whetton took a shot on goal, and the hit on a deflection was tapped in by returning Kookaburra Kieran Govers. Only a minute later and Govers worked his magic again, scoring his second field goal from a deflection off the post, giving the Kookaburras an early 2 – nil lead over the Black Sticks.

In the final minute of quarter one Australia went for it with a couple of quick passes leaving Aaron Kleinschmidt undefended at the right of the net and free to flick the ball in to goal past New Zealand keeper Richard Joyce.

The Black Sticks forced a penalty corner in the first minute of the second quarter in an attempt to fight back against the Kookaburras but Tyler Lovell and the Kookaburras were too quick for the Black Sticks and the ball was knocked out of danger.

With four minutes go in the third quarter the Black Sticks broke their drought with Kane Russell using a powerful drag flick to sink the ball into the New Zealand Goal.

Kookaburras interim head coach Paul Gaudoin said: “It was pleasing to get the win today. The Black Sticks started well but we fought back at the end of the first quarter and into the second. It was some fantastic hockey and quality play.

“We lost our way a little bit after half time, and maybe relaxed which let them back into the game. We need to make sure that against Malaysia we get 60 minutes of quality play, not perhaps 35 minutes.”

Earlier in the evening India defeated Malaysia 4 – 2 in an action packed game that saw Rupinder Pal Singh score his third goal of the tournament, along with a double from Chandanda Thimmaiah and a single from Akashdeep Singh rounding out India’s goals. Malaysia’s goals came from Faizal Saari and Shahril Saabah.

Full results from Day
IND 4 – 2 MAS
AUS 3 – 1 NZL


International Festival of Hockey Fixtures
Friday 25 November
Hockeyroos v India: 4pm AWST / 7pm AEDT

Saturday 26 November
Kookaburras v Malaysia: 12pm AWST / 3pm AEDT
India v New Zealand Men: 2pm AWST / 5pm AEDT

Sunday 27 November
FINALS SESSION
Hockeyroos v India: 11am AWST / 2pm AEDT
Men's 3rd v Men's 4th: 1pm AWST / 4pm AEDT
Men's 1st v Men's 2nd: 3.30pm AWST / 6.30pm AEDT


Kookaburras squad v New Zealand
Scott Boyde (Brisbane, QLD) 4/0
Ben Craig (Lane Cove, NSW) 4/0
Matthew Dawson (Killarney Valley, NSW) 58/8
Kieran Govers (Wollongong, NSW) 118/57
Casey Hammond (Bundoora, VIC) 5/0
Jeremy Hayward (Darwin, NT) 65/21
Aaron Kleinschmidt (Melbourne, VIC) 5/1
Tyler Lovell (Perth, WA) 73/0
Jake Whetton (Brisbane, QLD) 110/45
Tristan White (Wollongong, NSW) 83/6
Aran Zalewski (Margaret River, WA) 102/14

Used Substitutes
Chris Bausor (Perth, WA) 19/1
Daniel Beale (Brisbane, QLD) 92/16
Flynn Ogilvie (Wollongong, NSW) 39/12
Josh Pollard (Melbourne, VIC) 5/0
Matthew Willis (Tamworth, NSW) 12/1
Dylan Wotherspoon (Murwillumbah, NSW) 28/6

Unused Substitutes
Tristan Clemons (Bunbury, WA) 29/0

Hockey Australia

Related News

Australian Indigenous Olympians recognised for Olympic Day

Australian Indigenous Olympians recognised for Olympic Day

23 June 2017

The spirit of the Olympic movement was alive and well today, as the Australian Olympic Committee hosted a ‘Reception for Indigenous Olympic Athlete Recognition’ at the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence.

Hockeyroos win World League Semi-Finals opener

Hockeyroos win World League Semi-Finals opener

22 June 2017

The Hockeyroos World League Semi-Final campaign began today with the Australian’s defeating Malaysia 3 – 0 in their first game, thanks to a double from Madi Fitzpatrick and a goal from Georgie Morgan.

Australia prepares for Olympic Day 2017

Australia prepares for Olympic Day 2017

21 June 2017

The Australian Olympic Committee is ready to celebrate International Olympic Day on Friday June 23 with numerous great Olympians rallying behind this significant day on the Olympic calendar.

Related Sports

Hockey

Hockey