Tim Willoughby

Rower Tim Willoughby was a member of the men’s eight crew which won a bronze medal in 1984. Australia had not won a medal in the event since 1968. The other rowers in the eight were James Battersby, Ian Edmunds, Steve Evans, Clyde Hefer, Craig Muller, Sam Patten, Ion Popa and Gavin Thredgold. Willoughby also crewed on the men’s eight at the 1980 Olympics. 

Willoughby later moved from South Australia to Perth, where he enjoyed a successful business career and remained heavily involved in the Olympic movement and other sports. A popular and much-respected figure, he died in January 2008, aged 53.

Olympic Results

1984 Los Angeles

Eight - Men
Heat 2 5:56.61 (2nd)
Repechage 1 5:51.68 (1st)
Final 5:43.40 (3rd)
Final Placing 3 / 8

1980 Moscow

Eight - Men
Heat 2 Emergency positions were Duncan and Keynes 6:05.12 (3rd)
Repechage 1 5:45.04 (1st)
Final 5:56.74 (5th)
Final Placing 5 / 9