Jaime Fernandez

1971 -

Jaime Fernandez stroked Christian Ryan, Alastair Gordon, Nick Porzig, Robert Jahrling, Mike McKay, Stuart Welch, Daniel Burke and Brett Hayman (cox) to the silver medal in the men’s eight at Sydney 2000. It was the first Olympic medal in this category of boat since the bronze medal won at Los Angeles 1984. McKay, who was competing at his fourth Olympic regatta, had won two gold medals with the Oarsome Foursome (Barcelona 1992 and Atlanta 1996). The crew defeated the highly fancied British boat in the heat and thus became the favourite for the gold medal. In the final, Great Britain established an early lead and held off the fast-finishing Australians. Fernandez competed in the eights at Barcelona 1992 and Atlanta 1996, finishing fifth and sixth respectively. 

Olympic Results