Ion Popa

Ion Popa was an outstanding rower for Australia for many years, the highlight of his career being winning a bronze medal with the men’s eight in 1984. It was Australia’s first medal in the blue ribbon event since 1968. The other rowers in the eight were James Battersby, Ian Edmunds, Steve Evans, Clyde Hefer, Craig Muller, Sam Patten, Gavin Thredgold (cox) and Tim Willoughby. Popa also represented Australia at the 1988 Olympics.

Olympic Results

1988 Seoul

Eight - Men
Heat 2 5:33.94 (2nd)
Repechage 2 5:35.75 (2nd)
Final 5:53.73 (5th)
Final Placing 5 / 8

1984 Los Angeles

Eight - Men
Heat 2 5:56.61 (2nd)
Repechage 1 5:51.68 (1st)
Final 5:43.40 (3rd)
Final Placing 3 / 8